Best online Access to HE Engineering courses in the UK (2026)

Last reviewed 6 min readBy Lift College

Access to HE guide

For adults who want to study an Access to HE Diploma (Engineering) online, Lift College's Access to HE Diploma (Engineering) costs £79.99 a month with a 7-day free trial, no contract and a 14-day money back guarantee on every payment, and you can start any time; a year of study costs £815.99 paid up front, below every upfront course fee listed by the other providers here. learndirect, Stonebridge and Access Courses Online also offer an online engineering route, with upfront prices from £1,424.99 upwards.

The Access to HE Diploma is a QAA approved qualification: the Quality Assurance Agency for Higher Education licenses the awarding bodies (Access Validating Agencies) that award it, and QAA says Access to HE Diplomas are accepted at over 140 universities every year. The diploma carries UCAS tariff points, which universities accept for entry to many degrees: 45 graded credits at Distinction give 144 points, the maximum. See what UCAS points are.

Online Access to HE Engineering courses compared

Prices and study times as shown on each provider's own website, checked 12 October 2026. Every course listed is an Access to HE Diploma recognised through QAA; Lift College's awarding body is TBC.

Online Access to HE Engineering courses compared
ProviderCoursePriceTypical study timeUCAS points statedTrial or guarantee
Lift CollegeAccess to HE Diploma (Engineering)£79.99 a month, £67.99 a month if you start without the trial, or £815.99 for a year12 to 18 months, at your own paceUp to 1447-day free trial; 14-day money back guarantee on every payment
learndirectAccess to Higher Education Diploma (Engineering)£1,424.99 (sale price, was £1,899.99), or £9.99 deposit and 6 payments of £237.179 to 12 months on average; 24 months of accessNot on course page14-day cancellation right in its terms
StonebridgeAccess to Higher Education Diploma (Engineering)Subscription only on the page: £89.99 to £119.99 a month9 to 12 months on average; up to 2 yearsNot on course page7-day free trial on the £119.99 monthly plan
Access Courses OnlineAccess to HE Diploma (Engineering)£1,499, plus an external moderation and certification fee of £160 (stated in its FAQ)Not stated on course page48 to 144 (FAQ)Not stated on course page

Lift College's diploma is 60 credits, 100% online and assessed by coursework only, with no exams, a personal tutor from day one and marking in 3 to 5 working days.

What it costs

Most providers sell the diploma as one course fee. Lift College charges by the month instead, so what you pay depends on how long you study:

What it costs
How you pay at Lift CollegeCost
Monthly after the 7-day free trial£79.99 a month (£959.88 over 12 months)
Start now without the trial£67.99 a month for as long as you study
Pay for a year up front£815.99

Among the other providers, the upfront course fees on their own pages run from £1,424.99 to £1,499 (Stonebridge also sells an annual subscription at £89.99 a month, charged upfront). Check what each price includes: Access Courses Online's FAQ states an external moderation and certification fee of £160 on top of its course price. Our Access to HE cost guide sets out every way to pay.

Where the Engineering pathway leads

The pathway prepares you for engineering degrees (BEng and MEng). Acceptance varies by university: Exeter's BEng Mechanical Engineering (2027) asks Access applicants for 24 Level 3 credits at Distinction and 21 at Merit, including 12 at Merit in maths and 12 in a science, while Nottingham's BEng Mechanical Engineering does not accept the Access to HE Diploma. Check each course before you apply. Engineering pathways carry more maths and physics than other routes, because that is what engineering admissions tutors look for in your graded credits.

Universities set their own grade profiles, so check the exact requirement for each course you apply to, and see which universities accept Access to HE for how to read an offer.

How long it takes

QAA says the Access to HE Diploma usually takes one year full time, or two or more years part time. At Lift College the typical study time for the Engineering pathway is 12 to 18 months, at your own pace. Several providers in the table quote around 9 to 12 months on average.

How to choose

  1. Check the pathway matches your degree. Admissions tutors look at the subjects in your 45 graded credits.
  2. Compare the total cost for the time you will need, including any registration or certification fees.
  3. Look at how you pay. A monthly plan with no contract lets you stop if your plans change; an upfront fee or finance agreement does not.

Ready to start? Try the Access to HE Diploma (Engineering) free for 7 days or browse all Access to HE pathways.

Your next step

Start the Access to HE Diploma (Engineering) course free for 7 days

From £79.99/month · £0 today. Nothing is charged until day 8.

Start 7-day free trial →Request a call back

Or call 020 4652 5904 · Mon to Fri, 9am to 6pm

Frequently asked questions

Is the online Access to HE Diploma (Engineering) QAA approved?
The Access to HE Diploma is a QAA approved qualification. QAA licenses the awarding bodies that award it, and QAA says Access to HE Diplomas are accepted at over 140 universities every year. Lift College's awarding body for the Engineering pathway is shown as TBC on the course page.
How much does an online Access to HE Diploma in Engineering cost in the UK?
At Lift College it costs £79.99 a month after a 7-day free trial, £67.99 a month if you start without the trial, or £815.99 if you pay for a year up front. Other online providers listed upfront prices of £1,424.99 to £1,499 on 12 October 2026.
How long does an online Access to HE Diploma in Engineering take?
QAA says the diploma usually takes one year full time, or two or more years part time. Lift College's typical study time for the Engineering pathway is 12 to 18 months, studied at your own pace with no fixed term dates.
Do universities accept an online Access to HE Diploma in Engineering?
Yes. The diploma carries UCAS tariff points, which universities accept for entry to many degrees, and 45 graded credits at Distinction give 144 points. Each university sets its own grade profile, so check the course you want before you apply.
Can I study an Access to HE Diploma online while working full time?
Yes. Lift College's diploma is 100% online with no exams and no fixed term dates, so you study around work and family and can pause or cancel your subscription whenever you need to.

Sources checked