For adults who want to study an Access to HE Diploma (Midwifery) online, Lift College's Access to HE Diploma (Midwifery) costs £79.99 a month with a 7-day free trial, no contract and a 14-day money back guarantee on every payment, and you can start any time; a year of study costs £815.99 paid up front, below every upfront course fee listed by the other providers here. learndirect, Distance Learning Centre, Open Study College, Stonebridge, Academy Online Learning, Access Courses Online and Learning Curve Group also offer an online midwifery route, with upfront prices from £1,189.15 upwards.
The Access to HE Diploma is a QAA approved qualification: the Quality Assurance Agency for Higher Education licenses the awarding bodies (Access Validating Agencies) that award it, and QAA says Access to HE Diplomas are accepted at over 140 universities every year. The diploma carries UCAS tariff points, which universities accept for entry to many degrees: 45 graded credits at Distinction give 144 points, the maximum. See what UCAS points are.
Online Access to HE Midwifery courses compared
Prices and study times as shown on each provider's own website, checked 12 October 2026. Every course listed is an Access to HE Diploma recognised through QAA; Lift College's awarding body is TBC.
| Provider | Course | Price | Typical study time | UCAS points stated | Trial or guarantee |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Lift College | Access to HE Diploma (Midwifery) | £79.99 a month, £67.99 a month if you start without the trial, or £815.99 for a year | 12 to 18 months, at your own pace | Up to 144 | 7-day free trial; 14-day money back guarantee on every payment |
| learndirect | Access to Higher Education Diploma (Midwifery) | £1,424.99 (sale price, was £1,899.99), or £9.99 deposit and 6 payments of £237.17 | 9 to 12 months on average; 24 months of access | Not on course page | 14-day cancellation right in its terms |
| Distance Learning Centre | Online Access to HE Diplomas for Midwifery | £1,511.66 pay as you go (£10 enrolment, 12 payments of £113.47 and a £140 awarding body fee), or £1,360.50 pay in full | About 9 months on average | Up to 144 | Refunds at its discretion |
| Open Study College | Access to Higher Education Diploma (Health Professions) (one Health Professions diploma that leads to nursing, midwifery and paramedic degrees) | £1,599 (sale price, was £1,799), or from £56.57 a month | 24 months learning time, 20 hours a week | Up to 144 | 14-day money back guarantee |
| Stonebridge | Access to Higher Education Diploma (Midwifery) | £1,189.15 upfront (was £1,399); or subscriptions at £89.99 a month on an annual plan charged upfront, £109.99 a month, or £119.99 a month after a 7-day free trial | 9 to 12 months on average; up to 2 years | Not on course page | 7-day free trial on the £119.99 monthly plan |
| Academy Online Learning | Midwifery (awarded as the Access to HE Diploma (Health Science Professions)) | £1,320 (12 payments of £110) or £1,270 paid in full, including registration fees | 8 to 10 months typical | Up to 144 | 14-day cooling off period |
| Access Courses Online | Access to Higher Education Diploma (Midwifery) | £1,499, plus an external moderation and certification fee of £160 (stated in its FAQ) | Not stated on course page | 48 to 144 (FAQ) | Not stated on course page |
| Learning Curve Group | Level 3 Access To Higher Education Diploma (Midwifery) | No price shown; 12 interest free instalments | 47 weeks part time, with live online classes | Not on course page | Not stated on course page |
Lift College's diploma is 60 credits, 100% online and assessed by coursework only, with no exams, a personal tutor from day one and marking in 3 to 5 working days.
Your next step
Access to HE Diploma (Midwifery)
From £79.99/month · £0 today. Nothing is charged until day 8.
What it costs
Most providers sell the diploma as one course fee. Lift College charges by the month instead, so what you pay depends on how long you study:
| How you pay at Lift College | Cost |
|---|---|
| Monthly after the 7-day free trial | £79.99 a month (£959.88 over 12 months) |
| Start now without the trial | £67.99 a month for as long as you study |
| Pay for a year up front | £815.99 |
Among the other providers, the upfront course fees on their own pages run from £1,189.15 to £1,599 (Stonebridge also sells an annual subscription at £89.99 a month, charged upfront). Check what each price includes: Distance Learning Centre's pay as you go total includes a £140 awarding body registration fee, and Access Courses Online's FAQ states an external moderation and certification fee of £160 on top of its course price. Our Access to HE cost guide sets out every way to pay.
Where the Midwifery pathway leads
The pathway prepares you for midwifery degrees leading to registration with the Nursing and Midwifery Council (NMC). King's College London's BSc Midwifery (September 2027) asks Access applicants for 30 credits at Distinction and 15 at Merit. Midwifery students at universities in England can apply to the NHS Learning Support Fund for a £5,000 training grant each year. Every UK midwife must be registered with the NMC, which means completing an NMC approved midwifery programme; the National Careers Service lists the Access to HE Diploma as an accepted route onto those degrees.
Universities set their own grade profiles, so check the exact requirement for each course you apply to, and see which universities accept Access to HE for how to read an offer.
How long it takes
QAA says the Access to HE Diploma usually takes one year full time, or two or more years part time. At Lift College the typical study time for the Midwifery pathway is 12 to 18 months, at your own pace. Several providers in the table quote around 9 to 12 months on average.
How to choose
- Check the pathway matches your degree. Admissions tutors look at the subjects in your 45 graded credits.
- Compare the total cost for the time you will need, including any registration or certification fees.
- Look at how you pay. A monthly plan with no contract lets you stop if your plans change; an upfront fee or finance agreement does not.
Ready to start? Try the Access to HE Diploma (Midwifery) free for 7 days or browse all Access to HE pathways.
Your next step
Start the Access to HE Diploma (Midwifery) course free for 7 days
From £79.99/month · £0 today. Nothing is charged until day 8.
Frequently asked questions
Is the online Access to HE Diploma (Midwifery) QAA approved?
How much does an online Access to HE Diploma in Midwifery cost in the UK?
How long does an online Access to HE Diploma in Midwifery take?
Do universities accept an online Access to HE Diploma in Midwifery?
Can I study an Access to HE Diploma online while working full time?
Sources checked
- Lift College course page: https://liftcollege.co.uk/qualifications/access-to-he/access-to-he-diploma-midwifery (checked 12 October 2026)
- learndirect: https://www.learndirect.com/course/access-to-higher-education-midwifery (checked 12 October 2026)
- Distance Learning Centre: https://www.distancelearningcentre.com/course/access-to-he-diploma/midwifery/ (checked 12 October 2026)
- Open Study College: https://www.openstudycollege.com/courses/access-to-he-health-professions (checked 12 October 2026)
- Stonebridge: https://www.stonebridge.uk.com/course/access-to-higher-education-diploma-midwifery (checked 12 October 2026)
- Academy Online Learning: https://academyonlinelearning.com/access-midwifery (checked 12 October 2026)
- Access Courses Online: https://accesscoursesonline.com/products/access-to-higher-education-diploma-midwifery (checked 12 October 2026)
- Learning Curve Group: https://www.learningcurvegroup.co.uk/courses/level-3-access-to-higher-education-diploma-midwifery (checked 12 October 2026)
- QAA, About the Access to HE Diploma: https://www.accesstohe.ac.uk/about-access/about-the-diploma
- QAA, Access to HE: https://www.accesstohe.ac.uk/
- UCAS tariff for Access to HE: https://www.ucas.com/media/205216/download
- https://www.kcl.ac.uk/study/undergraduate/courses/midwifery-with-registration-as-a-midwife-bsc/entry-requirements