Cheapest Ofqual regulated online GCSE courses with tutor support (2026 comparison)

Last reviewed 3 min readBy Lift College Editorial

GCSE guide

Answer first: The cheapest way to start an Ofqual regulated GCSE online with a named tutor is the Lift College Study plan at £39.99 a month per subject, with nothing to pay today and nothing charged until day 8 of the free 7-day trial. Lift College teaches the AQA GCSE specifications that schools sit (WJEC Eduqas for Film Studies) across 12 subjects, listed on the online GCSE courses page. If you want the exam booked and paid for in the price, the Lift College +Exams plan is £69.99 a month or £713.99 a year (£89.99 a month or £917.99 a year for the double award Combined Science), against £929 to £2,019 for the course-plus-exams packages we found elsewhere. If you would rather pay one fixed fee and arrange your own exam, CloudLearn (£299), Open Study College (£349) and ICS Learn (£355) were the lowest GCSE Biology list prices on 19 October 2026, all before exam fees, which you pay to a private candidate centre directly (CloudLearn's own FAQ puts them at an extra £270).

Prices were read from each provider's course pages for GCSE Biology, Business Studies, Chemistry and Combined Science on 19 October 2026 and will change; check before you enrol.

What "cheapest" has to include

  1. Which qualification is it? Lift College, Open Study College and (for some subjects) Oxbridge Home Learning teach the AQA GCSE that schools sit. CloudLearn, ICS Learn, NEC and Oxford Home Schooling mostly sell the Pearson Edexcel International GCSE, a different qualification with different papers.
  2. Are exam entry and centre fees included? Most fixed-fee courses exclude them, so you find a centre and pay it directly; CloudLearn's FAQ quotes an extra £270 for GCSE Biology.
  3. Is there a named tutor who marks your work? Oxford Home Schooling's subscription is the lowest monthly figure in the table, but tutor marking is a paid extra.

Price table: online GCSEs compared, 19 October 2026

Swipe to compare →Scroll sideways to compare →

Price table: online GCSEs compared, 19 October 2026
ProviderCourse priceExam entry and centre feesQualification taughtTutor supportFree trial or refund
Lift CollegeStudy £39.99 a month or £407.99 a year; +Exams £69.99 a month or £713.99 a year (Combined Science £89.99 a month or £917.99 a year)Included on +Exams, seat booked at one of 10 Tutors & Exams centresAQA GCSE (WJEC Eduqas for Film Studies), 12 subjectsNamed UK tutor, marked practice, marking in 5 to 7 working daysFree 7-day trial, nothing charged until day 8; 14-day money back on every payment
CloudLearn£299 per subject (£349 Combined Science), or from £10.58 a month on financeNot included; FAQ quotes an extra £270 (Biology) and from £410 (Combined Science)Pearson Edexcel International GCSEDedicated tutor, queries within 1 working dayFree trial lesson; 14-day money back
Open Study College£349 course only (shown against £449), from £12.35 a month; course plus exams £929 (Business) to £1,169 (Biology, Chemistry) and £2,019 (Combined Science), Birmingham centre onlyIncluded only on the course plus exams packagesAQA GCSE, Foundation and Higher sold separatelyUnlimited tutor support14-day money back; no free trial
ICS Learn£355 (Biology), £460 (Combined Science); no Business or Chemistry courseNot included: "Your exam fees aren't included in the course cost"Pearson Edexcel International GCSETutor support, tutor-marked practice testsNot stated on the page
NEC (National Extension College)£470 single payment (£765 Combined Science), or deposit plus 12 payments at 0% APRNot includedPearson Edexcel International GCSE1-2-1 tutor guidanceNo free trial on the page
Oxbridge Home Learning£395 (Business) to £495 (sciences) course feeNot includedAQA GCSE for Business and Combined Science, International GCSE for BiologyUnlimited support for the course termNo free trial or refund terms on the page
Oxford Home Schooling£24.99 first payment then £14.99 a month, minimum 6 months (Combined Science £34.99 then £24.99)Not includedPearson Edexcel International GCSETutor marking and email support cost extraNot stated on the page

The cheapest route for three different learners

You want to try before you commit. Lift College is the only provider in the table with a free 7-day trial of the full course, and you pay month by month with no course fee and no contract.

You want one price that covers the exam. Lift College +Exams at £713.99 a year is the lowest exam-inclusive price we found, with your seat booked at one of 10 centres across England; Open Study College's packages run from £929 to £2,019 and the exams must be sat in Birmingham.

You want the lowest total if you can arrange your own exam. CloudLearn (£299), Open Study College (£349) and ICS Learn (£355) were the lowest GCSE Biology fixed fees before exam costs; add the exam fee for a private candidate seat, and check that a centre near you accepts that qualification before you enrol.

Compare by subject

Dated subject tables are on the GCSE Biology, GCSE Business Studies, GCSE Chemistry and GCSE Combined Science comparison pages, and the all-subject view is best online GCSE courses UK. Adults without a grade 4 in maths or English should read how to get free GCSE maths and English as an adult first.

Sources checked on 19 October 2026

Each provider's GCSE course pages, AQA specification pages for 8461, 8132, 8462 and 8464, and the Lift College GCSE funding and costs page.

Your next step

Start the GCSE Mathematics course free for 7 days

AQA, Ofqual regulated · From £39.99/month · £0 today. Nothing is charged until day 8.

Start 7-day free trial →Request a call back

Or call 020 4652 5904 · Mon to Fri, 9am to 6pm

Frequently asked questions

What is the cheapest Ofqual regulated GCSE course online with tutor support?
On 19 October 2026 the lowest monthly entry price with a named tutor was the Lift College Study plan at £39.99 a month with a free 7-day trial. The lowest GCSE Biology fixed fees before exam costs were CloudLearn (£299), Open Study College (£349) and ICS Learn (£355). The lowest price that includes the exam was Lift College +Exams at £713.99 a year.
Do cheap online GCSE courses include the exam?
Usually not. CloudLearn, ICS Learn, NEC, Oxbridge Home Learning and Oxford Home Schooling list exam fees as extra and leave you to find a centre. Lift College +Exams and Open Study College's course plus exams packages include entry and centre fees.
Is an online GCSE the same qualification as one from a school?
Yes, if the provider teaches a GCSE specification from AQA, Pearson Edexcel, OCR or WJEC Eduqas. Several low-priced courses teach the International GCSE instead, which is a different qualification with different papers.
How old do I need to be?
Lift College enrols learners from age 14, with under 18s enrolling with a parent or guardian's permission and support. Other providers set their own minimum ages.
Can adults get GCSE maths and English for free instead?
Often, yes. Adults aged 19 and over in England without a grade 4 in English or maths are normally entitled to a funded college place; online courses suit learners who need other subjects or want the exam booked for them.