Lift College's Level 5 Diploma in Teaching online is the lowest monthly price in this comparison at £79.99 a month after a 7-day free trial, with a named UK tutor, no exams and no contract. The Level 5 Diploma in Teaching (Further Education and Skills) replaced the Level 5 Diploma in Education and Training (DET) in September 2024 and is the qualification colleges ask for and the Society for Education and Training recognises for QTLS. Four online providers offer it. This page compares them on price, awarding body, placement rules and support, with every price checked on the provider's own site on 22 October 2026.
The short answer
- Cheapest to start and the only pay-as-you-go option: Lift College, £0 today, £79.99 a month from day 8, cancel any time.
- Cheapest one-off payment at the time of checking: Bright Pathway at £869 on a time-limited offer (list price £1,130).
- Best known brand, highest list price: learndirect at £1,399, reduced to £1,049.25 on a 25 per cent offer that its page says ends on 30 October.
- No published price: ATC Training and School of Academics ask you to enquire.
If you want to start this week without a large upfront payment, choose Lift College. If you prefer to pay once and have a lump sum ready, compare Bright Pathway's offer price against Lift College's annual plan (£815.99 a year, or £693.59 when you skip the trial).

Your next step
Level 5 Diploma in Teaching (Further Education) (RQF)
Awarding body: Training Qualifications UK · Ofqual regulated · From £79.99/month · £0 today. Nothing is charged until day 8.
Comparison table: online Level 5 Diploma in Teaching courses (prices checked 22 October 2026)
Swipe to compare →Scroll sideways to compare →
| Provider | Price (as shown on 22 Oct 2026) | Awarding body and Ofqual number | Placement requirement | Tutor support | Trial or refund |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Lift College | £79.99 a month after a 7-day free trial, or £815.99 a year; £67.99 a month (£693.59 a year) if you skip the trial, 15% off for life | TQUK, 610/3842/8 | 250 hours in an FE setting, 150 of them teaching | Named UK tutor, marking in 5 to 7 working days | 7-day free trial, 14-day money back on every payment, cancel any time |
| learndirect | £1,399 list; £1,049.25 with 25% off (offer ends 30 October 2026); from £66.09 a month on a payment plan with a £9.99 deposit | TQUK (Ofqual regulated) | 250 hours in an FE setting, 150 of them teaching practice | Online tutor support, 24 months' access | Not stated on course page |
| Bright Pathway | £869 one-off on offer (list £1,130); Standard monthly £166.50 x 6 (£999); Priority Track £999 one-off or £191.50 x 6 (£1,149) | Focus Awards, 610/5281/4 | Teaching placement or voluntary position required; placement positioning programme offered | Online tutor support, 24 months' access | Not stated on course page |
| ATC Training | Not published, enquire | Focus Awards, 610/5281/4 | 250 hours, 150 teaching, plus a second 20-hour placement; 10 observations | ATC tutor plus two workplace mentors required | Not stated on course page |
| School of Academics | Not published, enquire | Ofqual regulated (awarding body not named on page) | Teaching placement required | Online tutor support via VLE | Not stated on course page |
All five deliver the same RQF Level 5, 120-credit qualification with 395 to 400 guided learning hours and 1,200 hours total qualification time. Prices on competitor sites change often; always check the live page before you enrol.
How to read the differences
Awarding body. TQUK (Lift College, learndirect) and Focus Awards (Bright Pathway, ATC Training) are both Ofqual-recognised awarding organisations, and both versions of the diploma appear on the Ofqual register. Employers and the Society for Education and Training treat them the same. The difference you will notice is the qualification number on your certificate, not its value.
Placement. Every provider requires the 250-hour FE placement with at least 150 hours of teaching, because it is written into the qualification. ATC Training adds a second 20-hour placement and specifies 10 observations of at least 45 minutes, which is a stricter reading of the same standard. If you do not yet have a placement, Bright Pathway advertises a positioning programme; Lift College asks you to secure a paid or voluntary placement before you reach the practice units and gives guidance on how to approach local colleges.
Paying monthly versus paying once. Lift College is the only provider where the monthly figure is the whole price: there is no deposit, no loan, and you can stop paying if you stop studying. learndirect's and Bright Pathway's monthly plans are instalments on a fixed course fee, so the total is owed whether or not you finish.
Time limits. learndirect and Bright Pathway give 24 months' access. Lift College has no fixed end date; most learners finish in 12 to 18 months and pay for the months they use.
Which course should you choose?
- Choose Lift College if you want to start immediately with nothing to pay for 7 days, prefer a monthly price with no fixed-term commitment, and want a named tutor who marks within a week. Total cost for a typical 12-month completion is £959.88 on the trial plan or £815.99 on the annual plan, less if you skip the trial.
- Choose Bright Pathway if you have £869 ready now and the offer is still running when you check; its Priority Track adds faster marking for an extra £130.
- Choose learndirect if you want the largest provider and are happy to pay £1,049.25 or more on a fixed instalment plan.
- Ask ATC Training or School of Academics for a quote if you specifically want Focus Awards or a particular mentor arrangement; neither publishes a price.
Not sure the Level 5 is the right level? Our FE teaching qualifications guide compares the Level 3 AET, Level 4 CET and Level 5 Diploma, and what a Level 5 teaching qualification is explains entry rules and what you can teach with it. For school teaching rather than FE, read QTLS vs QTS.
Your next step
Start the Level 5 Diploma in Teaching (Further Education) (RQF) course free for 7 days
Training Qualifications UK, Ofqual regulated · From £79.99/month · £0 today. Nothing is charged until day 8.
Frequently asked questions
What is the cheapest Level 5 Diploma in Teaching online?
Is an online Level 5 Diploma in Teaching recognised by colleges?
Do I need a degree for the Level 5 Diploma in Teaching?
Can I get QTLS with an online Level 5 Diploma in Teaching?
How long does the Level 5 Diploma in Teaching take online?
Sources checked
- Lift College: Level 5 Diploma in Teaching (Further Education) course page, 22 October 2026
- learndirect: Level 5 Diploma in Education and Training (RQF) course page, 22 October 2026
- Bright Pathway: Level 5 Diploma in Teaching (Further Education and Skills) course page, 22 October 2026
- ATC Training: Level 5 Diploma in Teaching (DiT) course page, 22 October 2026
- School of Academics: Level 5 Diploma in Teaching (DiT) (FE and Skills) course page, 22 October 2026
- Ofqual Register of Regulated Qualifications: 610/3842/8 (TQUK) and 610/5281/4 (Focus Awards)