Best online Level 5 Leadership and Management in Adult Care courses in the UK (2026 comparison)

Compare online Level 5 adult care leadership diplomas from Lift College, learndirect, Access Skills and Stonebridge on price, awarding body and refunds.

The best online Level 5 adult care course is an Ofqual-regulated Level 5 diploma in leading and managing an adult care service, assessed by portfolio from your own leadership role, at a price you can stop paying without penalty. Lift College offers the TQUK Level 5 Diploma in Leading and Managing an Adult Care Service (RQF), qualification number 610/7004/X, 95 credits, for £79.99 a month or £815.99 a year with all fees included, no exams, and a 7-day free trial. This is the qualification CQC expects for registered managers, and every provider in this comparison requires you to hold a leadership role in an adult care service while you study. Below we compare Lift College with learndirect (two sites), Access Skills and Stonebridge using their pages as read on 9 October 2026. NEC does not offer an adult care Level 5, so it is noted but not tabled.

Who the Level 5 is for

The Level 5 is the management qualification for adult social care in England. It is aimed at registered managers, deputy managers and senior staff who already lead a team, supervise staff and take responsibility for the quality of care. It is the qualification CQC expects for registered managers, and every provider we checked requires a leadership role (deputy manager, manager or a senior role where your manager supports you to take on leadership tasks) so that you can gather evidence from real practice.

Assessment is by portfolio, not exams: written assignments, reflective accounts, professional discussion, witness testimony and workplace observation. At Lift College the typical study time is 18 to 24 months and the qualification is 710 guided learning hours with a total qualification time of 950 hours. If you are not yet in a senior role, the Level 3 Diploma in Adult Care is the step before this one.

Comparison table

ProviderPriceAwarding bodyExam or assessment includedTutor supportFree trial or refund
Lift College£79.99 a month or £815.99 a year, full course with all fees includedTQUK (Ofqual-regulated), 610/7004/X, 95 creditsPortfolio of evidence, no exams; TQUK certificate includedNamed UK tutor, marking in 5 to 7 working days, AI Study Support7-day free trial, nothing charged until day 8, no contract, cancel any time, 14-day money-back guarantee on every payment
learndirect (learndirect.com)£1,599 full price, shown at £1,199.25 in a sale on the day checked; deposit from £9.99 spread over 24 months (page shows conflicting monthly figures)TQUK, 610/0955/6End-of-unit assignments plus workplace observation; no exams. Fee inclusion not statedMessage your tutor through the learning platformNo free trial mentioned; no refund or cancellation terms shown on the page
learndirect (pathways.learndirect.com)£1,199.25 pay in full; 12 payments of £99.93 (0% APR); or £29.99 deposit then 5 payments of £233.85; from £55.31 a month over 24 months at 12.5% APR, subject to statusTQUK, 92 credits (qualification number not shown on this page)Portfolio and competency based, no written exams; certification included in all plansDedicated personal tutor, support by phone, email and live chatNo free trial mentioned; 14-day money-back guarantee on enrolment
Access SkillsNot shown on the page; funding of up to £1,565 via LDSS and payment plans mentionedHighfieldAssignments, reflective tasks and workplace observation; no exams. Fee inclusion not statedExpert tutors, weekday access to tutors and assessors, live and recorded webinarsNo free trial mentioned; refund terms not stated
Stonebridge£109.99 a month, or £89.99 a month billed upfront for a year, or £850 one-off; £119.99 a month after the free trialTQUK, 610/0955/6Observation in a real work situation; no exams. Fee inclusion not statedFull tutor support7-day free trial; cancel or pause at any time; no refund policy stated
NECNo adult care Level 5 offered; its Level 5 is a CMI management qualificationNot applicableNot applicableNot applicableNot applicable

Reading the table

Two learndirect pages, two sets of terms. learndirect.com listed the course at £1,599 (discounted to £1,199.25 in a sale on the day), while pathways.learndirect.com listed the TQUK Level 5 at £1,199.25 paid in full, with instalment plans over 6, 12 or 24 months and a 14-day money-back guarantee. The two pages also differ on unit counts and access periods. If you are considering learndirect, read both and confirm which terms apply before you sign anything.

Subscription against a fixed fee. Lift College's typical 18 to 24 month study period costs £1,439.82 to £1,919.76 on the monthly plan, or £815.99 a year if you pay annually (two years is £1,631.98), with no contract and a refund guarantee on every payment. Stonebridge's monthly plan is £109.99, or £119.99 if you convert from its trial, so the same period costs more. Access Skills did not publish a fee, so you would need to ask, although the LDSS figure it quotes suggests employer funding is the expected route.

Qualification titles. Lift College's diploma is the TQUK Level 5 Diploma in Leading and Managing an Adult Care Service (610/7004/X, 95 credits). learndirect and Stonebridge list the TQUK Level 5 Diploma in Leadership and Management for Adult Care (610/0955/6). Both are TQUK Level 5 diplomas on the Ofqual register; check the qualification number on your certificate matches the one you enrolled on.

Evidence from your workplace. Whichever provider you choose, you need a manager or mentor who will verify your evidence, and an assessor will need to observe your practice. learndirect asks for a placement agreement covering the full course and a copy of your manager's CV.

Our recommendation

For a registered manager or deputy who wants the regulated Level 5 at the lowest monthly cost in this comparison, with all fees included and the freedom to stop if your role changes, Lift College is the strongest option. Stonebridge offers a similar subscription structure at a higher price. Stonebridge's £850 one-off was the lowest fixed total price we saw; learndirect offers instalment plans if you prefer to spread a fixed price. Our guide Level 5 Adult Care Diploma: what registered managers need explains the CQC route in detail, and the UK care worker pay 2026 guide sets out manager pay. All Lift College care qualifications are on the health and social care hub.

Frequently asked questions

Do I need the Level 5 to be a CQC registered manager?

The Level 5 Diploma in Leading and Managing an Adult Care Service is the qualification CQC expects for registered managers. If you are applying to register, hold it or enrol on it before you apply.

Can I take the Level 5 if I am not yet a manager?

You need a leadership role in an adult care service, such as deputy manager, manager or a senior role where your manager supports you to lead, because the evidence comes from your own practice.

How long does the Level 5 Diploma take online?

At Lift College, typical study is 18 to 24 months. The qualification is 95 credits, 710 guided learning hours and 950 hours total qualification time.

Are there exams in the Level 5 Diploma?

No. Every provider in this comparison assesses by portfolio: assignments, reflective accounts, professional discussion and observation of your practice at work.

What does an online Level 5 adult care diploma cost?

Lift College charges £79.99 a month or £815.99 a year with all fees included. Fixed prices seen on other providers' pages ranged from £850 (Stonebridge) to £1,199.25 (learndirect, in a sale against £1,599), and one provider did not publish a price.

Which awarding body is best for the Level 5?

TQUK and Highfield are both Ofqual-regulated. CQC and employers accept any regulated Level 5 diploma in leadership and management for adult care; the awarding body is not a deciding factor.

Sources checked