On this page
The best online Adult Care Level 3 course is the one that gives you an Ofqual-regulated TQUK or NCFE diploma, a tutor who marks your portfolio quickly, and a price you can stop paying if your circumstances change. Lift College offers the TQUK Level 3 Diploma in Adult Care (RQF), qualification number 610/6988/7, for £69.99 a month or £713.99 a year with all fees and the TQUK certificate included, assessed by portfolio with no exams, and you can start with a 7-day free trial. Below we compare it with learndirect, Stonebridge, Distance Learning Centre and Access Skills using what each provider's own page said on 9 October 2026.
What the Level 3 Diploma in Adult Care is
The Level 3 Diploma in Adult Care is the standard qualification for senior care workers and lead practitioners in England. It sits on the Regulated Qualifications Framework (RQF), is regulated by Ofqual, and is awarded by bodies such as TQUK, NCFE and Highfield. Lift College's TQUK diploma (610/6988/7) is worth 59 credits: 40 from 15 mandatory units plus at least 19 from optional units. Other awarding bodies' versions, such as the NCFE diploma (610/0498/4), have their own credit structures.
There are no exams. You build a portfolio of evidence from your own work, an assessor observes your practice on shift, and you take part in professional discussions. That means you must be working or volunteering in an adult care setting in England for the whole course. If you are not yet in a care job, start with the Care Certificate instead and come back to the Level 3 once you are employed.
Comparison table
| Provider | Price | Awarding body | Exam or assessment included | Tutor support | Free trial or refund |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Lift College | £69.99 a month or £713.99 a year, full course with all fees included | TQUK (Ofqual-regulated), 610/6988/7 | Portfolio of evidence, no exams; TQUK certificate included | Named UK tutor, marking in 5 to 7 working days, AI Study Support | 7-day free trial, nothing charged until day 8, no contract, cancel any time, 14-day money-back guarantee on every payment |
| learndirect | £1,249 full price, shown at £936.75 in a sale on the day checked; deposit from £9.99 spread over 24 months (page shows conflicting monthly figures) | NCFE, 610/0498/4 | Observations, case studies, witness statements, written questions and discussions; no exams. Page does not say whether certification fees are included | Assigned tutor by phone, email or instant messaging | No free trial mentioned; no refund or cancellation terms shown on the page |
| Stonebridge | £109.99 a month, or £89.99 a month billed upfront for a year, or £892.49 one-off; £119.99 a month after the free trial | Page says TQUK but quotes qualification number 610/0498/4 and an "NCFE CACHE" heading; check provider | Observations, case studies, witness statements, written questions and discussions; registration and certification fee included | Full tutor and admin support | 7-day free trial; cancel or pause at any time; no refund policy stated |
| Distance Learning Centre | No Level 3 Diploma in Adult Care found; nearest course is a PPD Health and Social Care short course at £299 | Ascentis (short course, not the diploma) | Tutor-assessed coursework; not the Diploma in Adult Care | Personal tutor | No free trial mentioned; no refund policy stated |
| Access Skills | Not shown on the page; funding of up to £835 via LDSS and payment plans mentioned | Highfield | Assignments, workplace observations, professional discussion and portfolio; no exams. Fee inclusion not stated | Assigned tutors, weekday access to tutors and assessors, webinars | No free trial mentioned; refund terms not stated |
How to read the differences
Price structure matters more than the headline. A 12 to 18 month diploma on a monthly subscription costs £839.88 to £1,259.82 at Lift College's rate, or £713.99 if you pay for the year. learndirect's full price is £1,249, discounted on the day we checked, with the cost spread over 24 months via a finance arrangement. Stonebridge's monthly plan is £109.99 (£119.99 if you convert from its free trial), so a typical 15-month study period costs noticeably more than the same period with Lift College. Access Skills did not publish a price on the page we read, so you would need to ask.
Awarding body. TQUK, NCFE and Highfield are all Ofqual-regulated, and employers and CQC inspectors accept any of them for the Level 3 Diploma in Adult Care. What matters is that the qualification number appears on the Ofqual register; Lift College's is 610/6988/7.
Assessment. Every provider in the table assesses by portfolio and observation. Check how observation is arranged: Lift College's page states that several units cannot be observed remotely, so an assessor sees you on shift. learndirect and Stonebridge require a placement agreement and a supervisor or manager who can verify your work.
Exit terms. This is where providers differ most. Lift College has no contract, no credit check and a 14-day money-back guarantee on every payment, so you can stop if you change job. learndirect's page for this course did not show a free trial or cancellation terms. Stonebridge lets you pause or cancel the monthly plan but publishes no refund policy.
What qualifications do you need to work in adult social care?
Legally, none to start. Most care roles are open to people with no qualifications, and your employer arranges an enhanced DBS check. Inspectors expect new staff to complete the Care Certificate standards during induction. The Level 3 Diploma is the expected qualification for senior care worker and lead practitioner roles, and the Level 5 Diploma in Leading and Managing an Adult Care Service is the one CQC expects for registered managers. Our guide Is the Adult Care Level 3 Diploma worth it? covers the pay difference, and the UK care worker pay 2026 guide has the full tables.
Our recommendation
If you are working in care in England and want the regulated Level 3 Diploma at a price you can stop paying, Lift College is the lowest monthly cost in this comparison with all fees included and a 7-day free trial. Stonebridge is the closest alternative on structure but costs more a month. learndirect suits someone who prefers a fixed total price on finance. Access Skills may suit learners whose employer is funding through the LDSS. Browse all three Lift College care courses on the health and social care hub.
Frequently asked questions
Do I need to be working in care to take the Level 3 Diploma in Adult Care?
Yes. The diploma is assessed through a portfolio and observed practice, so you must be working or volunteering in an adult care setting in England throughout the course.
How long does the Level 3 Diploma in Adult Care take online?
At Lift College, typical study is 12 to 18 months at about 8 to 12 hours a week. The qualification is 496 guided learning hours with a total qualification time of 590 hours.
Are there exams in the Level 3 Diploma in Adult Care?
No. Assessment is by portfolio of evidence, observation of your practice on shift and professional discussion, graded pass only.
Is TQUK as good as NCFE for the Level 3 Diploma in Adult Care?
Both are Ofqual-regulated awarding bodies and both diplomas sit at Level 3 on the RQF, although credit structures differ between specifications. Employers and CQC accept either.
How much does an online Level 3 Diploma in Adult Care cost?
Lift College charges £69.99 a month or £713.99 a year with all fees included. Other providers in this comparison quoted £892.49 (Stonebridge) to £936.75 (learndirect, in a sale against £1,249) as a one-off price, or did not publish a price.
Can I cancel if I change jobs part way through?
At Lift College, yes: there is no contract, you can cancel any time and every payment has a 14-day money-back guarantee. Check the cancellation terms of any other provider before enrolling.
Sources checked
- https://liftcollege.co.uk/qualifications/health-social-care/adult-care-level-3 (checked 9 October 2026)
- https://www.learndirect.com/course/level-3-diploma-in-adult-care (checked 9 October 2026)
- https://www.stonebridge.uk.com/category/health-social-care (checked 9 October 2026)
- https://www.stonebridge.uk.com/course/ncfe-cache-level-3-diploma-in-adult-care-rqf (checked 9 October 2026)
- https://www.distancelearningcentre.com/courses (checked 9 October 2026)
- https://www.distancelearningcentre.com/course/ppd/health-social-care/ (checked 9 October 2026)
- https://accessskills.co.uk/qualifications/level-3-diploma-in-adult-care/ (checked 9 October 2026)
- https://www.skillsforcare.org.uk/Developing-your-workforce/Qualifications/Qualifications.aspx (checked 9 October 2026)