The best online childcare course for working in a nursery or preschool in England is a Level 3 Early Years Educator diploma that the Department for Education lists as full and relevant, because that is the qualification that lets you count in EYFS staff ratios at Level 3. Lift College's Level 3 Early Years Educator is the TQUK Level 3 Diploma for Early Years Care and Education (Early Years Educator), £89.99 a month after a 7-day free trial, 12 to 18 months, with 300 placement hours in an Ofsted registered setting. The tables below compare it with the Level 3 and Level 2 childcare courses from learndirect, Open Study College, Oxbridge and UK Open College, read from each provider's own page on 12 October 2026.
The short answer
- To be counted at Level 3 in a nursery you need a full and relevant Level 3 Early Years Educator qualification plus a Level 2 English qualification (GCSE grade 4 or C, or Functional Skills English Level 2). Level 2 maths is only required for setting managers appointed from January 2024.
- Every Level 3 Early Years Educator diploma requires placement hours in a real setting. Only qualifications the DfE lists as full and relevant count in ratios, so check any course without a placement against the list before you rely on it.
- A full and relevant Level 2 Early Years Practitioner diploma counts at Level 2.

Your next step
Level 3 Early Years Educator
Awarding body: Training Qualifications UK · Ofqual regulated · From £89.99/month · £0 today. Nothing is charged until day 8.
Level 3 Early Years Educator courses online: provider comparison
| Provider | Qualification | Awarding body | Price shown on 12 Oct 2026 | Study time | Placement |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Lift College | Level 3 Diploma for Early Years Care and Education (Early Years Educator) | TQUK | £89.99 a month, or £917.99 a year, all fees included, 7-day free trial | 12 to 18 months, 700 hours total qualification time | 300 hours in an Ofsted registered setting following the EYFS |
| learndirect | Level 3 Diploma for Working in the Early Years Sector (Early Years Educator) | NCFE CACHE | £1,196.99 (£1,595.99), or from £55.95 a month on finance | 12 to 18 months | Minimum 350 hours across the age ranges |
| Open Study College | Level 3 Diploma for Working in the Early Years Sector (Early Years Educator) | NCFE CACHE | £1,799 (£1,949), or from £63.64 a month | Up to 18 months, about 860 hours | Practical assessment in your working environment; hours not stated |
| Oxbridge | Level 3 Diploma for Early Years Care and Education (Early Years Educator) | Not stated on page (qualification 610/3598/1) | £995 course only | Up to 12 months, 534 study hours | At least 350 hours in a childcare role |
| UK Open College | Level 3 Diploma Early Years Care and Education (Early Years Educator) | TQUK | £1,699, 18 months access and support | Average 12 months, 830 hours total qualification time | At least 8 hours a week in a nursery or preschool, about 350 hours |
Distance Learning Centre lists no early years qualification; its nearest course is an Access to HE Diploma in Childhood Studies, a university entry route.
Reading the prices
Lift College charges while you study, with no finance agreement, no credit check and a 14-day money back guarantee on every payment. learndirect and Open Study College showed sale prices with finance plans; Oxbridge's £995 is its Course Only tier; UK Open College charges one fee covering 18 months of access and support, with a 14-day money back period.
Lift College, Oxbridge and UK Open College list the same TQUK qualification number, 610/3598/1. learndirect and Open Study College sell the NCFE CACHE version. Lift College's course page states that its diploma is listed by the DfE as full and relevant at Level 3; check any other provider's qualification against the DfE list before you enrol.
Level 2 childcare courses online
A Level 2 Diploma for the Early Years Practitioner is the qualification that counts at Level 2. On 12 October 2026 Oxbridge priced its NCFE CACHE Level 2 Diploma at £845 (250 placement hours) and UK Open College its TQUK Level 2 Diploma at £1,299 (250 placement hours, 6 to 7 hours a week). learndirect (£374.99, full price £499.99) and Open Study College (£509, full price £559) sell a Level 2 Certificate in Introducing Caring for Children and Young People; neither page states a placement requirement, so check the DfE list before relying on it for ratios.
Lift College does not sell a Level 2 childcare course. If you can get placement hours, the Level 3 diploma is the qualification settings ask for and has no requirement to hold Level 2 first. Read do you need a Level 2 childcare qualification if you are deciding between the two.
How to choose
- Check the course is full and relevant. Use the DfE list, or our guide to EYFS ratios and qualification requirements.
- Confirm you can do the placement hours. Lift College needs 300 hours; most other providers quote 350. You can be employed or voluntary, but the setting must be Ofsted registered.
- Sort your English qualification. Without Level 2 English you can hold the diploma but only be counted at Level 2.
- Compare total cost over your study time. A subscription stops when you stop; a fixed fee is paid whether you finish in 12 months or 18.
- Ask how observations work. Lift College assesses by portfolio, observation of practice and witness statements in your setting, with no exams.
Why Lift College
Lift College's Level 3 Early Years Educator is the TQUK Level 3 Diploma for Early Years Care and Education (Early Years Educator) (RQF), qualification number 610/3598/1, listed by the DfE as full and relevant at Level 3. Study online with a named UK tutor and build your portfolio and 300 placement hours in the setting where you work or volunteer. £89.99 a month after a 7-day free trial, or £917.99 for the year, no contract, no credit check. See the Level 3 Early Years Educator course or the childcare qualifications page. Working in a school instead? The teaching and childcare hub covers the teaching assistant route.
Related: how to become an early years educator, early years and nursery pay 2026.
Prices and course details for other providers were read from their own course pages on 12 October 2026 and may have changed since. Check the provider before you enrol. DfE requirements are from Early years qualification requirements and standards, in force from 1 September 2026.
Your next step
Start the Level 3 Early Years Educator course free for 7 days
Training Qualifications UK, Ofqual regulated · From £89.99/month · £0 today. Nothing is charged until day 8.