The best online staff training provider for your team is the one that covers the courses your staff need, shows the price you will actually pay, lets you pay the way your business pays suppliers, and gives you records you can show an inspector, insurer or client. Lift College runs a free organisation account with 59 UK CPD courses at £16.99 a place for 1 to 9, £14.99 from 10, falling to £9.99 from 250, and your first CPD place free when you open the account with a work email. You pay by card or by invoice on 30-day terms with your own PO number, with no minimum order. This guide sets out what to compare and how Lift College, High Speed Training, iHASCO, Virtual College and CPD Online College line up, using what each provider's own pages said on 25 October 2026.
What to compare in an online staff training provider
- The price a buyer pays. Some providers print a price before tax and add it at the basket. Compare the full price for one course, then at the team size you need.
- How discounts work. Per course bands, credits or a yearly subscription. Check where the first discount starts and how big the order must be for the largest one.
- What the first course costs. Ask whether a free offer is a full course with a certificate, a demo, or a trial with no certificate.
- How long unused places last. Credits often expire after 12 months. Lift College places stay valid for 3 years from the day you buy them.
- Invoices. Some providers invoice only above a set number of courses. Lift College invoices from one place.
- Support for your staff. Who answers a learner who is stuck: a tutor, a help desk or nobody. Lift College gives human tutor support with every CPD course.
- Retakes and certificates. Free retakes, a certificate the day each person passes, and a number or link a manager can verify.
- Languages. Order 10 or more CPD places and your team can study any Lift College CPD course in Polish, Romanian, Punjabi, Urdu or Welsh. See courses in other languages.
Online staff training providers compared (2026)
Lift College is listed first. Competitor facts are from each provider's own pages, read on 25 October 2026. Prices are what a buyer pays.
Swipe to compare →Scroll sideways to compare →
| Provider | One course for one person | Team discounts | Free first course | Invoice | Unused places or credits | Retakes |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Lift College | £16.99 a place on a free organisation account | £16.99 a place for 1 to 9, £14.99 from 10, falling to £9.99 from 250 | Your first CPD place free with a work email, certificate included | Yes, 30-day terms with your PO, from one place | Valid for 3 years; move an unused place to a colleague | Unlimited, free |
| High Speed Training | £24.00 (Level 2 Food Hygiene) | 10% off from 10, up to 40% off from 500 | No free course on opening an account | Yes, 30 days, from 5 courses | Not stated on their site | Retakes at no extra cost |
| iHASCO | £18.00 to £36.00 a course, sold as credits (200 for £720) | Not stated as bands | Free trial of the library, no certificates | Yes, standard 30 day invoice | Credits valid for 12 months | Not stated on their site |
| Virtual College | £19.20 (Level 2 Food Hygiene) | 10% off from 10, up to 40% off from 100 | Free courses page (safeguarding and wellbeing titles); no free place on a paid course | Not stated on their site | Not stated on their site | Three attempts at no extra cost; more by asking support |
| CPD Online College | £28.80 (Level 2 Food Hygiene) | 10% off from 5, up to 40% off from 100 | Not stated on their site | Yes (listed for staff training) | Not stated on their site | Unlimited attempts |
"Not stated on their site" means we did not find it on the pages we read. Prices change, so check each provider before you buy. Our full comparison for employers lists every page we read.
Three ways to buy from Lift College
Pay as you go
Buy CPD places as you need them at £16.99 a place for 1 to 9, £14.99 from 10, falling to £9.99 from 250. Name your staff now or later.
Sector packs
One fixed price of £99 a learner for every course in a pack:
- Care induction pack (9 courses): care homes, home care and supported living.
- Food and hospitality pack (8 courses): kitchens, cafes, pubs, food retail and catering.
- Schools and childcare pack (7 courses): schools, nurseries, childminders and clubs.
- Workplace pack (15 courses): offices, warehouses, retail, facilities and trades.
Annual plan
Every course, for every learner, for a year, at £69 a learner a year for 20 to 49 learners, falling to £49 from 100. The minimum is 20 learners, and you can swap a leaver for a starter at any time, free.
Not sure which costs less for your team? The quote builder on our pricing page shows pay as you go, the sector pack and the annual plan side by side.
Who each option suits
- A small team that needs a few compliance courses now: pay as you go on a free Lift College account, with your first CPD place free. Our guide to the best staff training platform for a small business goes further.
- A care home, kitchen, school or workplace inducting new starters: a sector pack, when everyone takes every course in it.
- 20 or more staff who take several courses a year: the annual plan, or a provider subscription if you need a much larger library.
- A business that wants to write its own courses: learning platform software that you fill with your own content is built for that. A course library such as Lift College gives you finished, certificated courses instead.
- Comparing two providers in detail: see Lift College vs High Speed Training.
What you get with a Lift College organisation account
- Your own branded training portal in two minutes, with no sales call needed. See the platform.
- 59 UK CPD courses, each with a CPD Standards Office accredited certificate the day the learner passes, a unique number and a verification link.
- Human tutor support with every CPD course, unlimited free retakes and a free refresher when each course is due.
- Progress for every learner on one screen, with a progress report that opens in Excel.
- Card or invoice on 30-day terms with your PO, from one place.
- Regulated qualifications in the same account, for staff who need a Level 2 or Level 3 qualification.
Ready to start? Open a free organisation account and enrol your first person today.
Frequently asked questions
What is the best online staff training provider in the UK?
How much does online staff training cost per person?
Can I pay for staff training by invoice?
Is there a minimum number of staff for a Lift College organisation account?
How do I keep a record of my staff training?
Sources checked
- https://liftcollege.co.uk/business
- https://liftcollege.co.uk/business/pricing
- https://liftcollege.co.uk/business/compare
- https://www.highspeedtraining.co.uk/courses/food-hygiene/level2-food-hygiene-safety-catering/ (checked 25 October 2026)
- https://www.highspeedtraining.co.uk/training-teams/ (checked 25 October 2026)
- https://www.highspeedtraining.co.uk/courses/ (checked 25 October 2026)
- https://www.highspeedtraining.co.uk/?s=ofqual (checked 25 October 2026)
- https://www.ihasco.co.uk/pricing (checked 25 October 2026)
- https://www.ihasco.co.uk/pricing-payg (checked 25 October 2026)
- https://www.ihasco.co.uk/try (checked 25 October 2026)
- https://www.ihasco.co.uk/courses (checked 25 October 2026)
- https://www.ihasco.co.uk/search?q=ofqual (checked 25 October 2026)
- https://www.virtual-college.co.uk/courses/level-2-food-hygiene-safety-training (checked 25 October 2026)
- https://www.virtual-college.co.uk/free-courses (checked 25 October 2026)
- https://www.virtual-college.co.uk/training-package-subscription (checked 25 October 2026)
- https://www.virtual-college.co.uk/courses (checked 25 October 2026)
- https://www.virtual-college.co.uk/search?q=ofqual (checked 25 October 2026)
- https://www.virtual-college.co.uk/search?q=RQF (checked 25 October 2026)
- https://cpdonline.co.uk/ (checked 25 October 2026)
- https://cpdonline.co.uk/course/food-safety-hygiene-catering-level-2/ (checked 25 October 2026)
- https://cpdonline.co.uk/all-courses/ (checked 25 October 2026)
- https://cpdonline.co.uk/?s=ofqual (checked 25 October 2026)